9th NASS: APC zones Senate key offices

There were indications last night that the All Progressives Congress (APC) has tentatively agreed on power sharing formula for five more principal offices in the 9th Senate.

The party will soon name its favourites for the coveted offices after more consultations with the presidency and national leaders in order to ensure early rapprochement with its Senators-elect before the inauguration of the National Assembly in June.

But the APC NWC will meet next week to decide on the formula for the House of Representatives in spite of strong signals that the South-West might produce the Speaker.

Although the NWC was expected to hold an emergency session on Thursday on power sharing in the House, it was called off at the last minute.

ALSO READ THIS  Easter: Saraki Felicitates With Christians Calls for Sacrifices in National Interest

The APC on Monday night picked the outgoing Senate Leader, Sen. Ahmed Lawan, as its choice for Senate President.

The development has left the race open for the remaining five principal offices.

According to investigation conducted by our correspondent, the APC has zoned the five offices as follows: Deputy Senate President (South-South); Senate Leader (North-Central); Deputy Senate Leader (North-West); Chief Whip (South-East/South-West) and Deputy Chief Whip (South-West/South-East).

It was learnt that there had been pressure on the party leadership to concede the Chief Whip position to the South-East for a reasonable power balance in the upper chamber.

Those lobbying for the South-East claimed that since the outgoing holder of the office of Chief Whip, Prof. Olusola Adeyeye, is from the South-West, it will be fair to give the slot to the South-East.

ALSO READ THIS  Na their papa get stroke, Mr. Ibu debunks stroke rumour

The party will, however, consult soon on the ranking senators that will occupy the remaining five principal offices in the Senate.

A top source, who spoke in confidence, said: “We have tentatively agreed on how to zone the five remaining principal offices in the Senate.

“The formula agreed upon is as follows: Deputy Senate President (South-South); Senate Leader (North-Central); Deputy Senate Leader (North-West); Chief Whip (South-East/South-West) and Deputy Chief Whip (South-West/South-East).

“The party leadership is still consulting with national leaders and senators-elect on how to fill these slots without acrimony in the APC caucus in the upper chamber.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *